Cajun Black Bean Spaghetti Squash with Kale and Corn

 

I’ll admit it right off the jump – sometimes cooking absolutely sucks. Nothing feels better than consuming a delicious home-cooked meal…. though my second favourite is hearing the doorbell ringing with food…ready to eat. I am definitely spoiled – there are so many options here in Edmonton for a vegan like myself (or vegetarian – aka eh erm ….pizza) – I’ll admit I succumb to take-out. The ease of it is sure delightful.
I may write this blog which is mostly about cooking and vegan food (though tbh, I am trying to branch out – I don’t want to be all about food) – I’m not afraid to be honest! But, I sure cannot afford to eat out every night, nor would I want to. I take it as a challenge to create new things, try new things, and perfect old favorites. It’s about finding things that interest you!

When you’re running low on groceries, you’ve gotta get creative. I created this recipe whilst being low on produce, which can be tricky for a vegan such as myself, but…I wrote this! (Sentence that defines confidence – “I WROTE THIS!”, just in case you weren’t on the same page.) I am quite confident, because to me it tasted great, and my fiancé had nothing but good things to say about this meal.
When I’m running low, I find I get my “groove” (ie. creative genié) – double time. So just saying…this meal is UH-MAY-ZING! Groove on point! 😀 haha

This meal could be upgraded with some avocado, broccoli, meat substitutes, or zucchini. As I mentioned, I was running a bit low on produce, so I used what I had on-hand.

What you need to succeed

  • Baking Dish (1-2 depending on how large your squash is.) I used 2 glass IKEA options.
  • Small saucepan
  • Medium Frying pan
  • 2 large bowls

Cajun Black Bean Spaghetti Squash with Kale and Corn

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash, de-seeded and cut in half
  • package/can of re-fried beans
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 bunch Dino Kale
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Oil to coat the baking dish (I used olive oil) and frying pan
  • Nutritional yeast for topping
  • 1 tsp earth balance soy free spread, or alternative (more oil works, margarine, or even butter if you’re about that non-vegan life)

Squash(a freestyle on the typical cajun seasoning) seasoning (add about 1/2 tsp of each, more if required depending on the size of your spaghetti squash though you may have leftovers)
Originaly recipe via google, courtesy of allrecipes.com, though mine isn’t quite the same, I had to get an idea of what consists of a typical cajun recipe.

  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Basil
  • Thyme
  • Chilli flakes
  • Onion powder/flakes
  • Cayenne Powder
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Paprika

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375, prepare squash, coat roasting pan with olive oil, and add approx 1/4 cup water. This needs to cook for 40 minutes.
  2. About 25 minutes into the cooking time, roughly chop up the garlic (gotta get that allicin!) and start preparing (rip and rinse) the kale.
  3. Add a bit of oil to the frying pan, turn to medium and wait a minute.
  4. Now let’s add the kale and garlic. Typically I add the garlic first, but I added it at the same time and it turned out great.I pressed my chopped garlic directly into the pan.
  5. While that’s cooking, get your small saucepan and throw the re-fried beans and corn in there, and turn on low. Re-fried beans have a tendency to splatter and bubble, so don’t wear anything too fancy.
  6. When your squash is done, take it out of the oven and let cool for a few minutes.
    Once manageable (though you still may need an oven mitt and dish cloth), Turn the other stuff super low heat, and move the squashes to the counter. Drain the water from the baking dish(es). One at a time, grab a half, move to a large bowl and use a fork to “scrape” the squash. It looks a lot like spaghetti. If your bowl is getting too full, you’ll want to move the contents to a new bowl so that you can continue. The hotter it is, the easier it is to “scrape” – so ideally you want to scrape as much as possible out at once.
    NOTE: Ensure you don’t forget about the stuff cooking! Turn off the heat if you’re worried about it.
  7. You should now have two halves that are mostly scraped out, and 1-2 bowls of spaghetti squash. Add your squash seasoning (a freestyle on the typical cajun seasoning) and earth balance (ie. margarine/butter). Stir until it is nicely mixed up.
  8. In those halves, add a small amount of spaghetti squash – just barely enough to cover the bottom of the half/boat. Then, pour a bit of the re-fried beans and corn mixture on top. Then, cover with spaghetti squash and repeat. I did two layers total. (2 layers of beans/corn, 2 layers of spaghetti squash…though my second layer was a lot more than the first layer.)
  9. Top with kale.
  10. Serve and enjoy!

Serves 2 intially, up to 4 based on amount of spaghetti squash.

Depending on the size of your spaghetti squash, you may have leftover squash (in the bowl). Keep in the fridge for up to 4 days.Though it’ll have the makeshift cajun seasoning, it can be re-used as a base for a super lunch!

Processed with MOLDIV

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. allatimoshka says:

    Wow! Looks great! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sam says:

      Thank you!!!! 😇

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

