Why I Started Making My Own Shampoo & Conditioner + my recipe – Why Wednesday

My reasoning is simple – I regularly try to avoid chemicals. The more chemicals I can remove from my daily life, the better. Although I made the gradual change from crazy chemical laden products, even the “vegan” non-gmo, blah blah blah still had at least one questionable ingredient on the label. So I decided to do a little online research. There are hundreds upon hundreds of home-made shampoo + conditioner recipes. Even if you don’t want to use mine, consider other ideas! It’s worth-while!

Note: I am going to be completely honest. I wash my hair about 1-2x a week max. By day 3-4, I am wearing a hat in public. That being said, that is my choice. These recipes do not mean “don’t wash your hair as often”. If you’re the type that washes their hair every day, then go for it! If that’s the case – I’d recommend using less essential oils and less baking soda in your shampoo. (For an every day washer, I’d recommend starting with 3/4 tbsp and seeing where that gets you. For the essential oils – 1-2 drops of each oil listed below.)

I must say that my hair is stronger, healthier and thicker than it’s been since my problems with eating disorders started (since I was 11!) I should also mention – I usually don’t really style my hair. After I dry my hair (with a t-shirt because my hair is naturally wavy and it helps defrizz!) I put a curler on my bangs, and then straighten them. That’s it. I’ll straighten my hair on occasion, but it’s rare. I would still recommend if you plan on heat-treating your hair you consider a heat protector product….

I have been doing this for about a year now. I’ll admit – it’s a pain when you need to wash your hair and you barely have any left… the bonus is that it takes about 2 min to make. πŸ™‚

Note note: Play with this recipe – the original recipe is not quite what I use. But I have combination/oily skin. Do what feels right – and don’t be afraid to experiment!

What you’ll need to succeed
2 squeeze bottles (I hit up the dollar store and found some ketchup + mustard containers)
Funnel

Shampoo (optional: blonding!)Β 

Ingredients

1.5 tbsp baking soda
2 cups filtered water (I use the water from my Brita)
2-4 drops tea tree essential oil Β (I use more if my hair is dirtier)
2 drops lemon essential oil (optional – lightens hair a bit and is best for blondes. Note: do not go outside right after washing your hair as it might lighten up more than you’d like!)

Instructions
Pour 1/2 the Β water into container (mine only fits 2 cups water max!) (I use 1/2 the water so that the funnel doesn’t get wet and clog up)
Pour in baking soda using funnel
Pour other 1/2 of water (1 cup approx)
Add essential oils in whatever order you prefer
Shake after adding to the container and every time prior to use.

I like to use a lot since I don’t wash my hair more than 2x a week… so this amount would get me about 2 washes. If you wash your hair more often, you’ll probably need a lot less. My hair is about shoulder length – that being said you’ll want to concentrate on your scalp. I usually leave it for about 3-5 minutes. Again, I don’t wash my hair as often as a typical person.

Conditioner

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups water
  • 1.5 tbsp vinegar
  • 2 drops lavender essential oil

Instructions

  1. Pour water into container
  2. Add vinegar
  3. Add Lavender Essential Oil
  4. Shake after adding + before each use.

I chose regular vinegar over apple cider vinegar because my hair has no problem getting hydration. If you have dry hair, use ACV instead! It’s heavier. Β I leave on for about 1-3 minutes and rinse off with freezing cold water. Not only is the cold water good to lock + seal in the benefits of the natural ingredients on your hair, it’s also great for your body!

 

Much love!

OriginallyΒ posted January 18/15.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. So glad to find another no-pooer! I’ve done a much simpler version of this for years, with just a dilute baking soda solution for the wash and a dilute vinegar solution for the rinse. Works wonderfully. I don’t intend ever to go back to commercial products again. With this method, washing twice a week keeps my hair soft, shiny and clean.

    Thanks for sharing your recipes. I’m sure they will be more palatable than mine for people who want the nice-smelling scents and the moisturizing oils

    Like

    1. Sam says:

      Wahoo!!! πŸ™‚ Yay for the no-poo movement! haha πŸ˜›
      I started with the simpler version initially but wanted a bit of fragrance – and for the shampoo, the tea tree helps clean up the extra oil/grease (as I don’t wash my hair but 1-2x a week). πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I imagine if I were younger, I’d need that too, but my body doesn’t produce as much oil as it used to.

        Like

      2. Sam says:

        Ah fair enough! I am naturally oily so any help I can get I take it! πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amber says:

    I have been looking for shampoos without some of the chemicals I want to avoid, I think this just might be it! Love DIY

    Like

Leave a Reply

