De-clutter Your Life Fridays – Medicine Cabinet Round Up

Welcome to the third part in a series of posts titled “De-Clutter Your Life”.

But it’s this is not just a series, it’s a challenge!

It’s not your typical yoga pose or squat challenge either, though it might require some interesting poses/techniques to get things done. πŸ˜‰

I will be posting a new challenge every Friday. Take one hour a week to complete the challenge and you’ll be amazed how free you feel after just a few weeks! Heck, even one week is better than nothing at all. πŸ˜‰
If you took part in last week’s challenge, I hope you are feeling empowered, clear minded, and that the “detox” process from the toxic relationships you let go isn’t getting to you. Time heals all!

This week we’ll be de-cluttering our medicine cabinets! You know, the one that you struggle to close because it’s bursting with 90% of the contents going unused (or maybe thats just me)…. Regardless, there is no judgment here, just progression! Speaking of judgment… yes, the photo above is my current situation. 😐

Now Let’s De-clutter Our… Medicine Cabinet!

First off, takeΒ EVERYTHINGΒ out of your “medicine cabinet” and give it a good wash. It’s probably a bit dusty in there and could probably use a good clean anyways.

Now, start sorting. Sort your items into four piles to aid in organizing.

  • Keep
  • Throw Away
  • Recycle
  • Donate/Giveaway
Some reasoning to help you on your journey…
​

Reasons to throw something away:

  • It’s expired
  • You haven’t used it in over six months
  • You don’t like the product (if it’s sitting in your cabinet half empty AND you haven’t used it in a long time, that is a fairly good indication)
  • The product is “dirty” (perma-dusty, etc.).

IfΒ one or more of these apply to anything in the cabinet, it is definitely a good reason to throw it away!

Reasons to Donate/Giveaway: It’s still within the expected shelf life, you know someone who would want to use it (don’t assume, confirm!)

Reasons to Keep: This one is 100% up to you! πŸ™‚

Recycle the empty boxes and packaging.Β (If you’re like me, sometimes I leave the stuff in the boxes and forget about it.)

Now that everything is all clean and organized, place your items back into categories – I personally like to keep certain things in certain places – so I’ll leaveΒ that being up to you.


Unexpected benefits may include:

  • Finding lost items (my favourite)
  • Cleaner air
  • More space
  • More products (I know I have at least 8 empty lush pots.. which means a free face mask for me when I return them!)
  • Easier/more efficient daily routine

I have a very small medicine cabinet – so I also use a shelf in my linen closet.Β  I already know this is going to be a pretty big job, because I’m pretty sure I have old containers that the best before date is from five years ago that got pushed to the back, and lost in the shuffle.

To be a good example and to “practice what I preach”, I will be taking part in each week’s challenge and will be sharing my results via my various social media platforms (instagram & Facebook).

Hope you all have a fab weekend, and we’ll see you on Monday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

