Turmeric Dressing and a salad worth writing home about.

on
As you may have heard from me in the past – I used to HATE salad. With age and experience, I realized it’s not that I hate salad, I just hate the traditional salads served – Caesar, “house”, greek, etc. It’s all not very appealing to me – the dressings, the giant chunks of ingredients I don’t really like on their own, etc….
Luckily, with some experimentation, I have found plenty of salads I enjoy – and a number of dressings I actually like.
The recipe for the turmeric dressing is quick, creamy and deeeee-lish! It also pairs really well with the salad recipe.
I hope you enjoy! 🙂

Note: If you just wanna rock the dressing or the salad – both are pretty easy to get along with. 🙂

Part 1 – Turmeric Dressing

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp of ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (I used pink himalayan)
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder (I used Himalayan sea salt that also has garlic in it, so I didn’t add extra powdered garlic.)
  • 1 tsp of dried dill weed
  • 2 tsp of agave (I sub’d agave, though the original recipe called for honey – your choice)
  • 5 tbsp of vinegar (I used white vinegar)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 5 garlic cloves, pressed/minced, 3 for this dressing, 2 for the kale later
  • 1/2 an avocado

Instructions

  1. Chop all 5 cloves of garlic and set aside.
  2. Combine all ingredients, except for the fresh garlic, into a blender. I personally used the personal sized cup for my ninja blender rather than the full cannister.
  3. Move on to the salad prep as blending takes 1 minute max.

Part 2 – A salad of salads

Ingredients

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • Greens (your choice – I usually would use baby spinach and some other type – but this time, because my local organic grocer didn’t have any spinach, I used 2/3 of the Organic Girl Pepper Greens  – and it really pairs well with the dressing and other ingredients!)
  • 4-5 leaves Kale, ripped with no stem, any type (I used black dino kale),
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 tsp oil of your choice – I used olive
  • 3 cherry tomatoes (I used fresh cherry tomatoes from my now-indoor garden!) (I am gradually starting to eat more raw tomato – but if you really like raw tomato, add as much as you’d like)
  • 2 large carrots, shredded
  • 1-2 tbsp grated frozen lemon

Instructions

  1. Heat olive oil on low heat for a minute to heat up the pan
  2. Press 2 of the garlic cloves into the pan, and stir often, until fragrant (usually 2-3 minutes)
  3. Wash kale and rip, if not already.
  4. Throw into the pan, and ensure heat is still on low. Flip somewhat often.
  5. Grate Carrot
  6. Flip that kale!
  7. Chop Tomato
  8. What’s that kale doin’?
  9. Chop Avocado
  10. How’s that kale comin’?
  11. Start the salad bowl – I did layers, and then mixed it up in the following order:
    Pepper greens, 1/2 of the shredded carrot, 1 cherry tomato….
  12. Take the kale off heat.
  13. Add remaing garlic cloves to the dressing in your blender – and blend!!!
  14. Grate frozen lemon, preferably into the other 1/2 of the shredded carrot (so it has something to bond with)
  15. Add kale to salad bowl, and then continue to layer until the bowl is full. I personally topped with extra carrot/lemon.
  16. Mix, serve and enjoy!

This makes enough salad for two large servings, or four small servings, any dressing left over should be stored in a resealable container in the fridge. If you have left overs – take that as an inititative to make another one of these salads.
😉

Tell me what you think of the recipe – and if you have a recipe you think would pair well either the dressing or the salad! I’m always open to trying new things (as long as it doesn’t contain large chunks of mushrooms – then maybe come back in 10 years…)

Original dressing recipe found on healthy-holistic-living.com

Originally posted October 20/15.

turmericdressingsalad1_zpslfkiyopi

Leave a Reply

