Parsnip Chips – A favorite among all!

Chips – who doesn’t love ’em? What’s even better than regular potato chips, you ask? Parsnip chips, I say! I have tried quite a few different commercial offerings, but even after my first try, I was hooked.
I love the idea of trying things at home, so I decided to give homemade parsnip chips a try!
So off to pinterest I went – and landed on this gem! I had to tweak it a little because I had 4 parnsips (orginal recipe calls for 3) and always, I remixed it a bit to my liking.

Maple Cinnamon Parsnip Chips

What you’ll need to succeed

  • Baking paper/liner
  • 1-2 cookie/baking sheets (I only had enough paper for one, so I had to do 2 batches)
  • 1-2 bowls
  • Spatula

Ingredients

  • 4 parsnips peeled sliced very thin
  • 2.5 tbsp maple syrup
  • Cinnamon to taste (minimum 1 tsp)
  • Sea salt to taste (1 tsp max – I probably used about 3/4 tsp)

​

parnsips2_zpsossi6ofv

After chopping/before coasting.
parnsips3_zpss42uoehv

Right before the chips went into the oven!
Instructions

  1. Pre-heat Oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Wash + Slice up parnips**.
  3. In one bowl, mix maple syrup, about a 1/3 of the cinnamon + sea salt that you want to use.
  4. Toss the chips in batches, replenshing the cinnamon and sea salt if required.
  5. Place on a lined baking sheet.
  6. Top chips with remaining cinnamon + salt.
  7. Put into the oven and start your timer for the 1/2 way point.
  8. I kept them in the oven for about 40 minutes, and flipped them half way though.
  9. Enjoy*!

**Β I sliced the parsnips by hand, and it was extremely time consuming and tough. I would recommend using a mandolin (which I do not have) or some kind of kitchen tool that slices things super thin! I have a veggie noodle maker that has a large setting, so I am going to try this again using that tool next time! At this time though, I have only used a knife to chop the chips. The thinner these chips are cut, the better they are!!

* – this is where the work needs to be done. If you eat them right away, they are perfect and delicious if I hadn’t cut them too thick (which just means those need a bit more time in the oven than the thin ones).
In my experience, If not consumed at most a few hours after being cooked, they soften up and the texture is somewhat tough to chew. The original recipe suggests storing them in an airtight container with some rice at the bottom to absorb the moisture. I did this, and found that even hours later they were soft.

The next day, I left them in the oven on warm for probably 2 hours. They shrunk quite a bit but were nice and crispy, but again if not consumed in a few hours after being out of the heat, turned soft. Not as soft as the go, but definitely still a bit tough to chew. I suspect having a dehydrator would rock these chips to the next level, but I don’t have one of those. πŸ˜‰

I found this delish recipe onΒ mywholefoodlife.com

Originally posted October 29/15.

Update!!!! February 24/16 – I now have a spiralizer that has an option to slice things very thin – so I am going to try these again soon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

