Creamy Peanut-y Coconut Sauce Over Noodles + Veg

There is a great story behind this dish. But let me back up a little….
My best friend and I’s friendship on a healthy path and we are cooking more together these days. Last time I was over at her place we cooked some delicious avocado pasta together, and not only was it delicious, it really meant a lot of me that she enjoyed my cooking enough to want it again (and to boot, her boyfriend also wanted some and loved it!)
I enjoy cooking for non-vegans. I really try to be very low-key in real life, and try my very best to not be pushy or come off as judgmental. My cooking for non-vegans is a mutually agreeable way to show that veganism and not eating meat can be grrrrr-eeeat!
Anyways….
The last time we hung out, she asked me if we could make something for din that was vegan (for after our hot yoga sesh!) ย I wanted to make something that would be enjoyable for everyone (including her boyfriend), nutritious and to be honest, something that I had never made before, because I wanted a challenge. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So I landed on this recipe – and the results were the best yet! (They LOVED it!) ๐Ÿ™‚
โ€‹
I chose this recipe because I had always wanted to try it (I had it pinned for over a year afterall!) and it obviously looks delishhhhh.
And just because it’s throwback thursday – it feels appropriate to say….
Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah it’s good!ย Yeah Yeah you wouldย (eat it!)Ok enough shenanigans – let’s get to cookin’!

Creamy Peanut-y Coconut Sauce Over Noodles + Veg
โ€‹
IngredientsFor the noodles:

  1. 1 package gluten free (or not) noodles (I used spaghetti!)

For the sauce:

  • 1ย can full fatย coconut milk (or lite if you’d prefer!)
  • 1 cup fresh diced/chopped baby tomatoes
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic, minced, grated or pressed.
  • 9 tablespoons natural peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons ginger, finely grated
  • 3.5 tbsp soy sauce (tamari sauce for gluten free!)
  • 3 tsp curry powder
  • Somewhere between 1/3 and a 1/2ย a frozen lime, grated ย (this is a fine balance, taste tests are required! darn haha) or 3/4 lime, juiced
  • 2 tsp sriracha
  • Salt + Pepper to taste

For the veg:

  • 2.5-3ย carrots, cut to your liking. I did some matchstick, and some sliced and cut in half.
  • 3 stalks of celery, sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced,grated or pressed
  • 1 onion, diced/chopped up to your desired size
  • 4-8+ cherry tomatoes, cut in half (I used the remaining baby tomatoes in the package that didn’t go into the sauce)
  • Green onion, for garnish (we used 2 green onions)
  • Oil for sautรฉing

Instructions:

  • First off – peel and chop all garlic and get that allicin building!

This recipe is kind of all at once – so bear with me. I would recommend having all of your veg washed, prepped and chopped sometime in between now and when you start heating the sauce….

For the noodles:

  1. Prepare as per instructions on the box/bag, etc. Ensure to start the water boiling shortly after you chop up the garlic.

For the sauce:ย 

  1. Add all ingredients to a sauce pan
  2. Mix/whisk it all up in the pan
  3. Heat over low heat until desired heat and consistency.

 

peanutsauce-mixedveg3_zpsylr6ferpFor the Veg:ย 

  1. Put a some oil in the pan and heat for about a minute.
  2. Then add your onion. Cook for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add the prepared garlic (mince, pressed or grated) and cook for a few more minutes.
  4. Now add the carrots
  5. Follwed by the celery
  6. and finally the baby tomatoes
  7. Cook for a few more minutes, or until everything is at the desired texture (soft? crunchy?)

 


For all!:

  • Combine all ingredients and serve! Makes 4 filling servings.

Original recipe found on theendlessmeal.com

creamycoconutpbpasta_zpsldhg2qkr

Originally posted November 5/15.

Leave a Reply

