Citrus AM cleanse – a juice-y way to Detox Everyday

As I mentioned last week, detoxing is not just working with/on the liver + kidneys, it should be full body and using various mediums to achieve a feeling that is unmatched and is honestly indescribable.

This week, I feature a delicious juice recipe and will be discussing my personal views on juicing/cleansing, a way to “detox”. Now before I go any further – please note. I am not the type to do a full juice cleanse – meaning I don’t think I would be able to drink just juice and water for 2+ days, nor do I recommend anyone do so. However, keep in mind that this is my own opinion, and if it is something you are wanting to do, do your research and do what feels right!

On a side note – if you’ve never cleansed before (herbal pills, drinks, juice, etc.) I definitely do not recommend you start with something intense, like a 5 day juice cleanse…it would just be too hard to stick to. Plus, your body would not be very happy with you – or at least mine sure would not be! You’ve gotta give your body time to react and adjust itself over time.

If you’re interested in trying a 1 day juicing/cleansing trial period – The following* are self-made (as far as I know) regimens I follow frequently (once to three times a week, max. starting often on mondays) If you really want to do yourself a favor, follow the second option.

“Working days” aka the easiest route for anyone who lives/cooks with someone else in the evening:

  • 1 juice/smoothie recipe in the morning (or sometimes in my case, vega one)
  • soup for lunch (I usually have about 2 cups worth)
  • 1 juice/smoothie in the afternoon
  • and an early solid and healthy dinner! – I enjoy cooking with my fiancé in the evening – and he is not content with just soup for dinner lol.

“Working nights” aka the best and easiest on your body route:

  • 1 juice/smoothie
  • solid lunch
  • 1 juice/smoothie
  • soup (again about 2 cups worth) or vega one

If this is your first time doing anything like this, I would say try this for one day and one day only – and definitely shouldnot be done long term (more than three days is a no-no!). Also, feel free to add more juices/smoothies if you’d like, but I’d say no more than 3-4  smoothies/juices max. for the entire day. In regard to the liquids, these should be balanced smoothies/juices, and should not contain 100% fruit as that can actually do more damage than good. One juice/smoothie that is full fruit is not a bad thing, but anymore than that in a day is not beneficial in my opinion. Get those veggies in!

It is also important to note that I am not suggesting one day of consuming mostly liquids is a going to detox you, nor is it a cure-all. It will, however, allow your digestive system to have a bit of a rest, get some nutrients in, and aid your body in getting to a place where it is functioning as optimally as possible. I personally do this regimen as a way to reboot to my system after perhaps eating unhealthily, drinking any amount of alcohol and becoming dehydrated, feeling under the weather, etc.

****** In spirit of getting some nutrition into our systems, this week’s posts, with the exception of wednesday, will all be smoothie or juice recipes! YAY! ******

If you happen to have the following ingredients on-hand, this juice is a great way to cleanse the system and provide multiple nutrients essential to good health (vitamin c, beta carrotene and potassium, to name a few.) This recipe is remixed a little to accomodate my lack of certain ingredients.

Citrus AM Cleanse

Ingredients

  • 1 stalk fennel
  • 1 lemon, peel + all (ensure this lemon is fully thawed if frozen! juicers and frozen lemons are not friends – and I learned this the hard way)
  • 1 orange, peel + all
  • 1/2″ piece of fresh ginger
  • 1 apple
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1/2 a cucumber

Instructions

  1. Pass through softer items into your juicer first so that you can get it all!
  2. Drink ASAP!

Yields about 10-12 ounces.

Recipe courtesy of Spud.ca – a great organic grocer that delivers!

And a moment of realness: Juicing can take up a lot of produce, and in turn can be somewhat expensive – I personally used this as motivation to not go face first into a pizza (again) lol 😉

My experience with juicing/rebooting is the following: My stomach shrinks quickly…even after about 2-3 days of 1 solid meal, soup or vega and 2+ juices/smoothies (sometimes its just more convenient for night shifts, I’ll admit!) I have a hard time going back to eating a solid two or more meals in one day without feeling over-full, and have to ease back into it, which basically means a bit of bloating, etc.

In the past, perhaps doing a 2+ day juice-only cleanse would have been something I could have done – as there were many times in my life I used to starve myself and was able to go a long while without eating (eating disorders – among the many “not cool” things that can happen to anyone). These days, if I do not eat enough in a day, there is a much higher likelyhood of getting bloated, etc.
That is just a couple of the many reasons I cannot and will not do a long term juice cleanse.

* – I just wanted to say that this is something I do and am not intending to preach at anyone, nor do am I a medical professional or nutritionist. I am sharing what helps me, and if you do not agree, that is your choice – don’t do it! 🙂 

Originally posted October 12/15.

Leave a Reply

