Why I stopped using Mouthwash & other typical “breath fresheners” – Why Wednesdays

gum1_zpsgq4cdbtgSometimes our breath is not as fresh as we’d like it to be – and often time we will turn to various ways, such as gum, mints or mouthwash, to freshen up our breath.

What we are not told about these various ways to freshen our breath is the “extras” and other questionable additions to the ingredients list.

For example – “Dentyne Ice’s” ingredients list for one of their popular flavors:

“INGREDIENTS: SORBITOL, GUM BASE, MALTITOL, MANNITOL, ARTIFICIAL AND NATURAL FLAVORING, GLYCERIN; LESS THAN 2% OF: ACACIA, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, ASPARTAME, BHT (TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS), CANDELILLA WAX, SOY LECITHIN, SUCRALOSE AND TITANIUM DIOXIDE (COLOR).
PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE”

So lets just quickly scan through…. soy lecithin is not our friend, nor is aspartame, natural and artificial flavoring.
The other ingredients are questionable, nor could I even tell you off the top of my mind what any of them do or mean. This should be a red flag!

I certainly wouldn’t eat something without knowing what is in it, nor should anyone else. Even though technically you should not be eating the gum, the ingredients list will be absorbed by your body as you chew it.


Moving on to mouthwash –

A good example I found is “Listerine freshburst” mouthwash
Now, they mention that there are active ingredients + inactive ingredients (active meaning medicinal, in-active meaning non-medicinal.) 

Active ingredients

Eucalyptol 0.092%
Menthol 0.042
Methyl salicylate 0.060%
Thymol 0.064%

Inactive ingredients
Water
alcohol (21.6%)
sorbitol solution
flavoring
poloxamer 407
benzoic acid
sodium saccharin
sodium benzoate
FD&C green no. 3
FD&C Yellow No. 10I don’t even know where to start with this mess of an ingredients list – but I will say that is too many damn ingredients to be legitimately safe to have in my body day in and day out, not even including the “color” ingredients.

:-S


Now I should mention, I do not chew gum anyhow – it makes me bloated and gassy, which is never cute. I do not use commercial mouthwashes just due to all of the “extras”, none of which I asked for.

That all aside, I still needed something to freshen my breath. I love garlic and other stinky foods, and sometimes I just need a quick breath freshen.

To combat the commercial option, I have made my own mouthwash. It has only 3 ingredients and lasts a long time.

I use essential oils + water because I know what’s in water, and I certainly know what is in my essential oils.

The recipe is as follows:

Healthy At-Home Mouthwash

  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 2-4 Drops Tea Tree Essential Oil
  • 1-4 Drops  Peppermint or other mint essential oil.

Combine all 3 ingredients into a cup, or a sealed container if you plan on making more (or need it to be covered, ex. pets).

The more you add, the stronger (and more burn-y) the mouthwash will be.

Take a gulp, swish it around in your mouth as you would a normal mouthwash for about 30 seconds – 1 minute, and spit.

You can do this as often as you’d like, and there are no side effects.

Give it a try and let me know what you think! 🙂

Originally posted September 30/15.

Leave a Reply

