Why grow your own food? – Why Wednesdays

Monday’s post was pretty darn long, so I’ll keep this one fairly short.

Growing your food has a lot of benefits to offer both your overall well being as well as those around you. Just some of the many benefits:

  • Firstly, and in my opinion most importantly, you know exactly what is being done to and how your plants/food are being treated. No pesticides, no chemicals. Just water, lots of love, dirt and perhaps some compost if you’re so inclined.
  • It is also a pleasure to watch something grow with your assistance. Although plants are not animated, they do move and are a joy to watch over time. Plus, plants are actually quite receptive, and are, believe it or not, responsive to a positive attitude, singing and being talked to in a loving way. I even have names for a lot of my plants. šŸ˜€
  • You get what is put into your food. Since you have grown your plants with love and support, they will in turn provide you with love in the form of flavor and optimal nutritional benefits. I feel like when I eat stuff that I have grown, I can taste the love – which can only be made sense of if you’ve grown your own food! šŸ™‚
    ā€‹
  • Lastly, it is a benefit to your surrounding environment to grow your own food, and will hopefully help out the some local “wildlife” (hopefully bees – but sometimes magpies :-S )

I’m no pro when it comes to gardening. I started a couple of years ago for the desire to know where my food is coming from. It has definitely been a learning process, and am still no where close to an expert.

I currently grow all of my plants in containers. I live on the top floor of a 3 story building and have a fair amount of room on my back deck for the late spring, summer and early fall months.

I am currently in the process of bringing most of my plants indoors. This is going to be a struggle as I certainly do not have enough room for all of them indoors this winter.

My dream is to one day have a lovely permaculture garden on my property. But that is for another day. šŸ™‚

Hope everyone has a lovely day.

babytomatoes_zpskziimzrq

Originally posted October 7/15.

Leave a Reply

