How to Detox Everyday- Do some yoga!

There are so many different types of yoga – if I were to write about them all this post would be unbearably long. So, I will be focusing on the types of yoga that I currently do, that in my opinion, aid in detoxing the body the most – ashtanga and/or flow & kundalini.

Now before I go any further, I am going to say this. I do not claim to have all of the answers, nor do I suggest that I know better than anyone else. I am posting this 7 part series as a means to inspire healthy habits, and am not preaching at anyone. Please do not think I am making these posts to suggest I know it all – these posts are to inspire you to conduct your own research, however that may be.

Thank you.

OK!

I truly adore yoga. Sometimes I enjoy working out, but that definitely comes in cycles. Yoga is something that, for me, is more than just a good fitness regimen or work out, its a way to stay in contact with other parts of myself.

Now, I am going to also clarify what I mean by detoxing. There is so much more to detoxing than simply relying on your liver and kidneys to do all of the work. To be completely honest, if we all take a hard look at our lifestyle choices, I’m sure we can all name at least one thing we do that makes either one of those organs job a bit more tough.
Our aim is not just to detox those two organs or even simply to assist them in doing their day to day functions, but to cleanse the entire body, which I can appreciate is a very vague term, however as we progress I will explain myself further). Yoga is a great tool to cleanse the body overall. There are specific poses, breathing techniques and stances that aid your body in “getting things moving” and aligning itself to perform optimally. It also, over time, assists in aligning your 3 bodies (mind, spirit + body) to work together to better health overall.

Now, is yoga some miracle practice that cures all? Absolutely not. Can one achieve benefits after just one practice? Yes. But just like any other physical practice (sports, dance, etc.), the true benefits can only come with continued practice and time. I’m not talking once a month either.

There seems to be a bit of a misunderstanding from the outside world, whom do not practice yoga, and those who do. I will elaborate. I recently read an article about why yoga and detoxing was a hoax. I remember specifically about how they mentioned that certain poses are said to “rinse the spine” and how “the spine does not need to be rinsed”. Now I do not have a link to this article, nor did I check their list of references… BUT!
I think what they missed was that it is not that the spine is literally being rinsed like some dishcloth or something… and should not be taken literally. For example, if someone were to have a desk job, and are slouching for most of the day, when aligning the spine and twisting in a safe and correct manor, it will help break up the accumulated fluid and build up, which is created from sitting slouched over all day. It is very similar to going to a chiropractor, and depending on how much build up you had, afterward, you may or may not have felt a bit heavier and “thick” feeling in certain places (when I went to the chiropractor, I felt it in my arms).

One hour of yoga practice will not leave you with the after effects of visiting the chiropractor – reason being is it is much more gentle than a chiropractor visit, and aligns things over time rather than all at once. This is a plus, in my opinion because it allows your body to “ease in” and build up the strength over time to stop or at least reduce the amount of slouching, and in turn, the build up caused by slouching.

 

Picture
Definitely not I.

Yoga is not just about aligning the spine and correcting your posture though, it is so much more than that.

 


Yoga is a way to align your full self into staying in the present.
It can also be a tool used to cleanse and detox the entire body using various mediums.
I personally use Ashtanga, vinyasa/flow (in my opinion, a more mainstream/westernized version of ashtanga) and kundalini yoga to achieve my cleansing goals. The most important thing is linking the breath to your movement. That is what really gets things moving, but is also, in my opinion, the hardest part of yoga to master.Kundalini yoga is defined as – “Kundalini yoga derives its name through a focus on awakening kundalini energy through regular practice of meditationpranayama (breathing exersizes), chanting mantra and yoga asana. (poses)” (wikipedia)

Ashtanga is defined as – “This method of yoga involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures—a process producing intense internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light and strong body, and a calm mind.” (ashtanga.com)

Flow is very similar to ashtanga – Ashtanga is more on the spiritual/traditional side, where as flow/vinyasa is more fitness driven and more western world-friendly.

I also do flow hot yoga, anywhere from 2-4x a month. The heat can be quite cleansing, and I always feel like a million damn dollars afterwards. If you have never done yoga before, please do not think I am suggesting you go to a hot flow class for an hour. One should ease into yoga, not rush in.

Kundalini, in my opinion, is the most effective at fully cleansing the body and aligning all three bodies (mind, body, spirit), though if you have never done any type of yoga before, I would not recommend you start with Kundalini. Not only is it much more spiritual and of the mind, it can stir up some unpleasant emotions and even some unpleasant body sensations if you are not careful. Do not do kundalini yoga until you do your research about what it is all about and more about the various mediums used (chanting out loud, meditating, breath practices, holding a pose for a long time/pulsing, etc.)

I am currently doing “Yoga fix 90” – which is a mix of vinyasa/flow, yin (very slow placed), HIIT and various other types of yoga. It is a very well rounded program – I’d recommend it to anyone! 🙂

Since I am currently doing this program, I have not been doing very much kundalini, but intend to continue my practice on and off until I complete the 90 day fix program, and then will resume to anywhere from 1-3x a week.

If you’re new to yoga and are interested in learning more – I suggest trying some yin yoga to start, working your way up to hatha, and once you’re feeling comfortable, then try ashtanga and/or flow, and finally kundalini.

The following links are all meant for beginners and will help you on your journey to falling in love with yoga, and ultimately employing it as one of your tools to aid in cleansing/detoxing your body.

Yin Yoga
Hatha Yoga
Ashtanga Yoga
Flow/Vinyasa Yoga
Kundalini Yoga
Let me know what your experience with yoga has been, and if you’re interested in learning more about yoga! This post was meant to educate and in my opinion, was extremely vague so that I did not write a 50 page essay and bore everyone to tears lol. Hope you enjoyed and thanks for your time! 😀


Originally posted October 5/15.

Leave a Reply

