Would you like fries with that? Zucchini + Carrot Fries

My name is Sam and I’m a former French fry addict. My mom even states that “fruh fri” was one of my first words…. Although I don’t eat fries near as much as I used to – I love this remix on a classic.

I have done this recipe a few times and have used carrots, zuchinni, broccoli stems, yams, sweet potatoes, and even boring old store-bought fries.

veggiefries2_zps0tdg2cds
These are some yam fries that were turned into cajun cayenne congestion clearing fries! 🙂

Yumm!

It’s easier to eat healthy when you prep – these babies can be frozen and eaten later. 😎


Zuchinni + Carrot fries (or whatever else you feel like…)

Ingredients 
Freestyle! You decide. 🙂 Trust your gut and go with what feels right.

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 220 C/425 F

2. Cut your veg into 8-cm/3-inch sticks, making sure they are even in thickness. (Do your best – I am personally not so good at this – luckily enough  my boyfriend likes things a bit crispier. Perfect match – right?)

3. Line a baking tray with baking paper and a light layer of olive oil.

4. Season your friessssss – follow your heart. Fly my pretties! FLYYYYYYYYY!
Some great examples given by the creator of the recipe –
go with the usual salt&pepper and branch out to one or two of the following (Choose Your Own Adventure-style): paprika, cumin, cayenne, crushed red peppers, thyme, rosemary, sage – really, whatever takes your fancy and suits your meal. Using premixed spice blends is a great option too – Italian, Mexican, Old Bay – you know, just not all at once.

5. Lightly toss your vegetable batons with a tablespoon or so of olive oil (not too much) and the herbs and spices.

6. Spread your seasoned veg over your lined tray and roast.  Cook for 20 minutes or until golden and slightly browned at the edges, and on a side note –  I would recommend flipping halfway through…or at least checking them! I have a tiny gas stove and it’s important that half way through anything involving a cooking tray needs to be turned 180 to make sure the stuff at the back doesn’t burn.  🙂

I enjoy serving these with veggie burgers, sandwiches and even with other “finger-y foods”…

thanks again to Voracious Vander – check out their original post!

Leave a Reply

