Washing your new edible friends… straight from the store! Monday’s How to!

I like to make a plan and then follow through. Once I get home from shopping, I sometimes want to just throw it all in the fridge and go hang out for a while. Bad move! I found that when that happens, stuff often doesn’t get eaten as much and/or more stuff goes…bad. I’ve learned that if I prep + wash everything as soon as I get home – I am definitely thankful later. YAY!

Check it –

Fill your sink about 1/2 way full – and then put in 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar. Let the following fruit/veg soak for anywhere from 10-45 min.

Wash up + all at once!

  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Kale
  • Apples
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Swiss Chard
  • Collard Greens
  • Loose Spinach Leaves that are dirty (not baby spinach/any packaged spinach)
  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Oranges
  • Lemons
  • Limes
  • Grapefruits

If it’s not on the list and it should be – let me know!
note: it’s probably because I forgot it or just have never purchased it.

Stuff you shouldn’t wash in the aforementionned manor. * DON’T – JUST DON’T *

  • Kiwi *
  • Bananas
  • Strawberries
  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Cherries
  • Mushrooms
  • Apricots

* can be dipped in quickly – then laid to dry in the sun/on the counter.

I wouldn’t recommend experimenting with the list about what not to soak – especially when it comes to most berries – I found they like to stay dirty and if you wash them right away they tend to go back almost completely by the next day.
Maybe that’s common knowledge – but just thought I’d pass it on.

Otherwise – just check out this list on how to store the stuff and you’ll be happy you did! Longer lasting food that will take a bit less time out of your day when prepping to cook! YESSSS!

Originally Posted November 22/14.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

