Vegan Mozzarella Sticks

My first job was at a truck stop as a cook. I got fired for being too slow. But anyways- on my lunch break I would make around 8-10 mozzarella sticks. As an appetizer. I would also have a main course as well. 😐
I wasn’t kidding when I said I’ve had a tumultuous relationship with cheese. Anywayssssss…. *awkward*

When I was 17 and moved out to Alberta (from Ontario), I found mozza sticks super hard to come by. Which I guess was a good thing l, health-wise. Cravings-wise, pretty disappointing.

The good news is I found this amazing vegan recipe that – no lie – tastes like “real mozza sticks”. Plus – all the texture and stretchiness is there too – so you might even be able to fool a non-vegan with this one. πŸ˜‰

It’s somewhat time consuming to put these beauties together…but well worth it in the end. 8-}

Check it out! Also – a huge HUGE thank you to newvegantable.com for creating this gem of a recipe!!

Vegan Mozzarella sticksΒ 

Β prepare to have your damn mind blown!

Ingredients

8 oz block Daiya β€œItalian Style” cheese
1 cup four
1 cup soy milk, plus more as needed

1 cup bread crumbs
1 tsp Italian seasoning
salt and pepper

Oil for frying

Instructions

Mix four and soy milk in a wide shallow container, such as a pie plate. Thin with additional soy milk or water until the consistency of heavy cream. On a separate plate, mix bread crumbs with Italian seasoning and season with salt and pepper.

Cut Daiya into sticks about 1/2β€³x1/2β€³x3β€³. Dip each stick into the batter then roll in breadcrumbs. Repeat, giving each stick a second coat of batter and crumbs to build a thick crust. Place finished sticks on a parchment lined baking sheet. Freeze breaded sticks for at least two hours. (The waiting is near torture – I would recommend finding a good documentary or something to distract – or – even better – get a good work out in!)

Just a heads up – this prep is messy as hell. Wait until after if you’re planning on cleaning up your kitchen prior to making this… just don’t do it. (Maybe part of the problem is I enjoy using my hands rather than a tool – so it gets really messy and stickly quickly. If you like using your hands – have your sink clear.

To Fry
Heat oil in a fryer or heavy pot to 375Β° and fry frozen sticks for about two min until crust is brown and cheese is soft. Fry sticks in batches if necessary to avoid crowding the pan and allow oil to return to 375Β° between batches. Drain on paper towels and serve with marinara sauce for dipping.

This. Is. The. Remix.
I used marinara sauce for dipping (nothing new obviously for mozza sticks connoisseurs.) Obvs. I had a lot of leftovers since I refused to share with anyone (there’s that picky jerk side of me again)…
I had them as an appetizer – another time I had them on the side with a burger/sandwich with some graihhhhnnnnss (or for those of you that don’t know me in-person – greens)

Thanks again to newvegantable.com for the bomb recipe!

Originally posted Nov 1/14.

Leave a Reply

