Vegan KFC copy-cat spice life!

You heard me!? 
I don’t eat meat obviously…and alot of it really is unappealing…but there is something about those damn kfc commercials! How dare they! I wouldn’t ever eat there – but I sure would season something to get something up my alley near their….one-of a kind-ness. So I did. end of story.

I used this amazing fake chicken I found at my local organic grocer – it’s called “King’s Double Happiness” – imported to Canada from Malaysia. It’s basically made of soy and mushroom stems (which is a surprise for me ’cause I sure don’t like mushrooms!!!). SOOOO GOOOD. Topped with kfc-style seasoning?! YES YES YES x10.

This yields 1/3 of a cup – and can be altered on the site I found it on. NICE! Deluxe, even…

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon onion salt (see note below beside garlic powder)
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt (I didn’t add this and it was still great)
  • 1 teaspoon sage
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder (I personally used this himilayan pink salt as the garlic + onion because it contains garlic flecks and I don’t own onion garlic – no thanks.)
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground oregano
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper (or as I call it – PEPP)
  • 1 teaspoon basil leaves,crushed
  • 1 teaspoon majoram leaves, crushed finely

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, mix up spices + herbs.
  2. Cook “chicken” aka double happiness (I usually use a bit of sesame oil and garlic) until about 75% cooked.
  3. Sprinkle mixture over “chicken” until fully coated or to taste.
  4. Eat it!

That’s it!

I found this on food.com .

Leave a Reply

