Spicy Pumpkin Pie Shake

Halloween is tomorrow! It seems that everywhere I look I see pumpkins…which makes me crave pumpkin pie. An old classic. PLUS – Pumpkins are pretty darn reasonable this time of year; price-wise. YESSSS. So – off to pinterest I went.

The great news is I found an easy and quick pumpkin pie shake that legit tastes like liquid pumpkin pie.

You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

Spicy Pumpkin Pie Shake

Equipment Required

  • Good quality blender

Ingredients

  • 2 frozen bananas (frozen when very ripe)
  • 1ΒΌ cups cooked pumpkin, very cold
  • 1 cup cold nondairy milk (I personally used coconut)
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup, cold
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • Β½ teaspoon vanilla

Instructions

  • In a blender, combine all of the ingredients until thoroughly smooth and emulsified

Serves 2

Recipe courtest of Tess Challis + healingthebody.ca – check it out here!

REEEEEEMIXXXX:

Heads up – I personally used pumpkin puree rather than cooked pumpkin. It was easier and on sale! πŸ˜€

Also – I unfortunately don’t have pumpkin spice laying around so I made my own – did a little google research and found that pumpkin spice is nothing more than aΒ blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice. I got this info from this recipe fromΒ allrecipes.com. That being said – I just mixed my own concoction. I personally love cinnamon and ginger so I was a bit more generous with said ingredients. According to the recipe from Allrecipes – cinnamon should be the most added, nutmeg and ginger should be equal and all spice should be smallest. I’ll let you decide.

I also topped mine off with smashed up pecans – I used a mortar + pestle but it works just as well if you put them in a plastic Ziploc and either step on/smash it up manually. Again, I’ll leave the decision up to you.

Posted originally October 30th/14

Leave a Reply

