Roasted Cauliflower

I like quick and easy. I also like when the prep is done beforehand so that when I am cooking it’s already ready to go and get cooking. This one’s all me! Just an FYI – These take 20 minutes in the oven. Β Not bad right? :-}

What you’ll need to succeed

  • A large bowl/container with tight fitting lid (this baby is going in the fridge)
  • Cookie Tray
  • Patience

Below are the various components of the “seasoning” for the cauliflower. Keep in mind we are not greasing the baking tray – so don’t be afraid to be a little generous on the oil.

cauliflower-dressing_zpsj629eorr

Ingredients

  • Cauliflower (at least 2 cups +++) – chopped in the way you like. This is a freestyle (created by me!) so scale the amount to what you need.
  • Olive oil (I personally added enough to coat my cauliflower – start with a couple tablespoons and work your way up. I probably used about 1/4 of a cup because I had a lot of cauliflower…)
  • Fresh Rosemary – (1/2 a small/med “sticks”/branches worth) * I’d recommend roughing up the leaves up a little (I chopped them to get some extra flavour)
  • Garlic (LOTS) – we’re talking at least 2 small cloves ++++ (looking at the pic – it looks like I added probably 3-4) I love garlic but if you don’t – then add as much as you want to.
  • Cayenne pepper – 1/2 Β tsp
  • Pinch of Paprika
  • Cracked Black Pepper (Again upto you – we love pepper in this place!)
  • Pinch of Salt

Instructions

  1. Mix the seasoning ingredients with a whisk or fork for a minute or two – it’ll never completely mix but some good elbow grease should do the trick.
  2. Toss in Cauliflower
  3. Mix around the cauliflower with said whisk/fork for another minute until most of the cauliflower is coated OR you can get like me – I personally enjoy forgoing the tool and just shaking the bowl around until fully coated (then I like to put the lid on and shake it a little more). Either way…

Here comes the need for patience! Now put the lid on your bowl or – move to airtight container (even a plastic baggie works) – put in the fridge and move on with your day.
I left mine marinating for about 24 hrs. This is not mandatory and you could just as easily enjoy this right away and forgo the marinating. I personally wanted a really “sticky taste” (i.e. sucked into the cauliflower) so I left it to marinate for a while.
Even an hour is better than nothing! πŸ™‚Β 

Instructions Pt.2 (I need a baking sheet)Β 

Ready? OK!

  1. Turn up the oven to 375 – and then turn up the music! (I personally enjoy cooking with music)
  2. Grab your baking sheet + get your cauliflower out
  3. Distribute cauliflower to baking sheet (try to do this evenly – you might need a helping fork or hand to even it out.)
  4. Drizzle remaining oil + seasoning over the cauliflower – try your best to only hit cauliflower.
  5. Put in the oven + cook for about 30-35 min or so – checking 1/2 way through. I personally gave mine a little shake and turned the tray around – I have a small oven and feel better about doing it .
  6. Let cool for 1-3 minutes and serve …or mix – if you’re going to add it to a stir fry like I did! πŸ˜‰

Stay tuned superpals – tomorrow’s post will be incorporating this cauliflower…

Originally Posted November 10/14.

Leave a Reply

