Red Pepper + Corn Blender Soup

Happy Halloweening everyone. Let’s celebrate with some orange soup.

As I’ve grown older – I’ve learned to love soup and everything it does for the body. I’ve also learned a trick – I believe it was something I saw on tv a while ago where a lady was blending veggies in with stuff her kids liked to trick them because they were picky….. Sounds like someone I used to know…. *raises hand awkwardly*
I personally do not care for eating red peppers straight – but I know they are so good for me. I made a comprimise with myself – find some recipes that include veggies I don’t care for (trust – even though I am vegan I still don’t like quite a few veggies) – so that way I can still pick up some of the nutrients and won’t have to deal with the taste or texture.

This soup is quick and easy – it was one of my first blender soups. I would definitely recommend eating it within 4 days – or freezing it. I tasted it after it had gone …south. It was very sour and tart and well – it was next level. (not in a good way – don’t do it!)

Just a heads up – maybe I’m the only one but sometimes my food goes bad- or I make too many things and some gets missed.  I try not to make a habit out of it but nobody is perfect! Just do your very best – that’s all you can ask of yourself. You should also thank yourself for being great! Anyways – since you’re now feeling better about your mind, get your body on the same level!

My remixes are within the recipe – see the original over at averiecooks.com!

Red Pepper + Corn Blender Soup

Ingredients

16-ounce bag frozen sweet corn, thawed to room temp (or fresh corn if you have it), 95% and 5% for later
half of 1 large red bell pepper, deseeded
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (or 1/4 cup raw cashews or Parmesan cheese – not vegan)
1 heaping tablespoon coconut oil (use another oil like olive if you’re sensitive to coconut flavor)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste
half of 1 small red onion, peeled; optional
1 to 2 cloves garlic, peeled; optional
about 1 cup water (or use coconut water, milk, almond/soy/nut milk, cream)
salt and pepper, optional to taste

Instructions

  1. To the canister of your blender, 95% of your corn,, all the remaining ingredients, about 1/2 cup water, and blend. Based on how thick soup is, and personal taste preference, add more water until desired consistency is reached.
  2. After desired consistency is reached, stir in remaining corn by hand to preserve texture.
  3. I added salt + pepper to taste.
  4. Soup may have gotten warm in your blender canister. If not, and you prefer it warmer, transfer to a pot on your stop top and heat gently and on med/low until warm. In warmer months, soup can be served chilled, like gazpacho. Soup will keep airtight in the refrigerator for up to 5 days (my experience is 4 days max) or in the freezer for up to 4 months.

Remix of the remix….  
The first time I made this soup I also added a couple of big handfuls of baby spinach. Also a treat. Both times – I ate aka drank it cold – I wanted to keep as much of the nutrients alive as possible – especially since I don’t get much red pepper! 😀

Originally Posted Oct 31/14.

Leave a Reply

