Pumpkin Chia Pudding

Ch-ch-ch-chia!

Up until about a year ago – the only thing I knew about chia was that it made a low-maintenance house plant. These days- my relationship with China is tighter than ever. I purchased a bag of organic chia seeds at winners about a month ago and haven’t looked back.

After thanksgiving dinner (I’m from Canada – we have thanksgiving approx mid October) – I really didn’t feel like going through the rigmarole of making a pie or something. So I made this chia pumpkin pudding. I prefer to call it “pumpkin pie in a jar”. To each their own, I guess.

Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding

Ingredients

    • 2 cups almond milk
    • 4 tablespoons chia seeds
    • 3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (see my note below if you don’t have any kicking around.)
    • 4 tablespoons pure maple syrup
    • 1.5-2 cups pumpkin puree
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • optional: ¼ cup nuts (pecans, walnuts, etc.)

Instructions

1. Soak chia seeds in almond milk. (I did 2 jars – aka 1 cup almond milk + approx 1.5-2 tbsp chia seeds – depending on how thick you want the pudding to be.)

2. Use a fork to give it a quick stir and then close + shake vigorously!

3. Store in the refrigerator overnight. Chia seeds will expand.

4. Mix the rest of the ingredients together and add to the chia mixture. (I put the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and the poured 1/2 of the  mixture into the 2 jars.)

Serves 2

Great recipe courtesy of kriscarr.com – Thank you!

The. Remix….This. Is the…remix.

I do not have pumpkin spice laying around so I made my own – did a little google research and found that pumpkin spice is nothing more than a blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice. I got this info from this recipe from allrecipes.com. That being said – I just mixed my own concoction. I personally love cinnamon and ginger so I was a bit more generous with said ingredients. According to the recipe from allrecipes – cinnamon should be the most added, nutmeg and ginger should be equal and all spice should be smallest. I’ll let you decide.

Originally posted November 9/14.

Leave a Reply

